Academic Ping-Pong.

I ought to have learnt this by now.
That I don’t need to get stressed out.
That this is the way it works.
But I haven’t.
And, I’m getting.

I am talking of my thesis. The one I’m writing. The fourth one in two years. And it’s always been the same.
First the idea, the problem to tackle, is crystal clear. Then it grows, getting too big. Then I trim, twist, turn to get it down to size. All along with new ideas and solutions popping up, making the thesis go in all sorts of directions, not being able to see the line between problem and conclusion. Then this ‘all over’ start blending with moments of clarity, ping-ponging back and forth, faster shorter until (at least in my mind) clarity wins and the thesis, as by magic, gets finished.

Right now I am at the start of that ping-pong game.
Still stressing out though.
Is it because clarity is not a given winner?

Leave a comment